SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Are satellites in the way of observation?

Planetarian

As there are almost 3000 satellites on orbit, I was wondering if they ever become an obstruction of our stargazing.

I'm just a beginner and don't know much about it. Spacex has started the Starlink project which consists of thousands of satellites. Are those ever gonna be in the way when observing, or there's nothing to worry about? I know they won't be in focus but can decrease contrast i guess. 

I am a visual only observer but I imagine satellites could be an annoying nuisance for astro photographers who don't want or need white streaks across their images.

I must say that I get a bit of a kick out of seeing a satellite cross my field of view when I'm observing as it is so unexpected and only fleetingly there. It is amazing how many times I've seen them when viewing Orion and also Crux, must be on the main flightpath north and south I guess. :) 

• Like 1

I'm a visual observer like Geoff. I do often see a satellite whizz across the field of view through a scope but they don't bother me at all.

I can see that imagers would not be so relaxed about them though.

• Like 1

Likewise, I’m a visual observer and they don’t bother me.....however, there have been occasions when I’m concentrating on an object and a satellite whizzes through the fov causing me to nearly fall on my backside with surprise!! They do make me jump sometimes 😂

• Haha 1

They just add to the observation of looking at something in the night sky. Theres alot of stuff up there  !

I've even seen 2 criss cross going in completely different directions.

Obviously from an imaging perspective satellites and air traffic can be bothersome.

@Planetarian see if you can spot the ISS (international space station) There are apps to help you locate it.