SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

ZWO ASI533MC Pro VS ZWO183MC Pro

KEJ

Hi

I was just after some advice and opinions on which potential ZWO camera I should buy.

Currently, I have been using either a Nikon D3300(crop) or Nikon D800(FF) on a William Optics Z61(61mm, 360mm FL) main scope with a 61A Flattener, mounted on SW AZ-GTI, controlled by a ASIAIR Pro, guided by ZWO ASI120MC-S and 30F4 guide scope.

I am pretty new to astrophotography, so I am also currently really happy sticking with a colour camera, rather than B&W, especially with our weather and sometimes limited windows of opportunity.

The two in the running are:

ASI183MC Pro or ASI533MC Pro

So, thinking aloud, these are some of the questions I am curious about and I am leaning towards the ASI533MC Pro.

1) FOV

I think the ASI533MC Pro camera is a great option(really like the zero amp glow), my only slight concern was the FOV on my WO Z61(61mm and 360mm FL) for some of the wider DSO’s like M31 and M45 and even maybe some of the other nebula’s(all that said maybe they wouldn’t fit either at 360mm on any of those cameras).

So, what are my options on that front………….Mosaics, Reducer. However, I have some other Nikon camera lens, providing those adapters work and has anyone ever tried them ?

I like the idea of using an adapter as I do have various camera lens which could potentially give me more options(zoomed in more or further back), this wouldn't be my goto option for DSO, but I do like the idea as a fall back.

Ie:(All Nikon lens): 

Sigma 150-600mm F5-6.3

Nikon 24-120mm F4 

Sigma 105mm F2.8 DG

Nikkor 55-300mm F4.5-5.6

And several smaller(80mm, 50mm, 35mm, 10mm etc).

Question 1

Are those ZWO camera to Nikon DSLR camera lens adapters any good ?

2) Arc Seconds Per Pixel

So, my understanding and providing my calculations are correct, initially it would appear that the 183 might suit me better(FOV and Arc Seconds per pixel) on the WO Z61.

Based on.

ASI183 MC Pro