Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Advice on first astronomy binoculars please

TrevorW45

Hi, I’m new to astronomy and the forum, and would like some advice on buying my first pair of binoculars for star fields, lunar and planetary obs. I’m particularly keen on being able to view or at least be able to see the rings around Saturn. I’m considering a good pair of 25 x 100 for this purpose. Any advice on brands welcome! 

• Like 1

Welcome to SGL, you will find a lot of helpful folks here. I use binoculars (Celestron 12x70s, Helios Apollo 15x70s, Pentax 20x60s and Helios 20/40x100s) and telescopes (a couple of dobsonians) and think binoculars and telescopes complement each other well in the arsenal.  

I could just make out the rings of Saturn with 20x60 Pentax WPs a while back, but I mean just barely - more of a sense that they were there than an actual view but others may have better impressions. I'm not sure an extra 5x magnification will improve that a great deal, but I can't knock it until I've had a go. I haven't tried the 20/40x100 observation binoculars yet on the planets (shame on me!) but that's on my list for the next clear night from home.

I mainly use binoculars for widefield views of the Milky Way, constellation sweeping, travel, terrestrial etc. My fav for astronomy are the 15x70 Apollos under dark skies with UHC/OIII/Nebustar II filters or Hb on certain targets under the right conditions (California Nebula is one).  Views are excellent, but not many binoculars come with filter threads and a pair of good filters will bump up the price up a fair bit.

Celestrons get mixed reviews when compared to more expensive offerings, but most owners seem happy with theirs. I've been happy with mine for the price. The Helios line are generally well regarded, especially the higher end Apollos and Lightquest lines.