Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Trying something new! My results so far.

assouptro

Hi Starjunkies! 

I have been playing with my Samyang 135 for a few months now and have been really enjoying the  wide field view it allows.

I thought I’d have a go at the Spaghetti Nebula ( Sh2-240 or Simeis 147) In Taurus just below Auriga 

It’s a dim target from my city skies and the Oiii is going to need a lot more data to bring it out but I can see the promise of something good with enough patience and some luck with the weather.

here is the result so far...

F7EA44E5-CE34-4E31-A696-51FE27FFC772.thumb.jpeg.267f236868ea436795dc666f0b558e63.jpeg

It’s just over 4 hours Ha and Oiii mainly 5 and 6 min subs 

any tips on the Oiii subs or processing would be welcome. 

Thanks for looking! 

Bryan 

• Like 37

Superb mate.  A difficult target and it needs hours and hours of HAOIII integration to show the details.  The Samyang 135 is a super lens for framing this object - I have done it myself too witjh mine - though will return to it when it clears to add to my data from last year.   I have seen people do twenty hours plus on this, which is a lot of investment in a target under UK skies.   You've got lots of the additional faint nebulosity around the Spaghetti as well.  Keep at it.

• Like 1

An heroic choice of target from a light polluted site and an even more heroic result! This is a target which will guzzle all the time you can give it so you're doing brilliantly for four hours already.

The combination of Astrodon filters and this lens is inspired because the one thing camera lenses can't do is hold down star sizes - but that's a thing Astrodon filters do to perfection. Great combination.

Olly

• Like 1

8 minutes ago, kirkster501 said: