Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Trailing stars - whats going on?

Maho

Hi everyone,

I'm new to astronomy and my recently purchased equipment include: SW 130PDS and Ioptron CEM25P GoTo. I used my Olympus EM10 M2 camera.

On the first night I was out I just slewed my mount to take pictures of random stars in the sky to test various camera settings. I pointed the scope to Vega and took a number of images at 4 second exposures at 1600 ISO. Even with that short exposure, I still seem to have elongated stars, any longer that 4 seconds it would elongate even more.  Can anyone advise what I'm doing wrong? 

edit - I've uploaded images in JPEG

P9212982-1.jpg

P9213004.jpg

Edited by Maho

You need to give us more information about your setup.. how are you guiding?? ... although first thing I would do in your situation is check and triple check your polar alignment... and get it as close to perfect as possible.. 

No guiding on this. I manually used the hand controller to point to Vega.

Regarding my star alignment, I tried a two star alignment and the target was off by some distance and used the hand controller function to slew to the target star and pressed enter. I was using the supplied 6x30 finderscope that came with the mount.

(I think I may have answered my own question)

2 minutes ago, Maho said:

No guiding on this. I manually used the hand controller to point to Vega.

Regarding my star alignment, I tried a two star alignment and the target was off by some distance and used the hand controller function to slew to the target star and pressed enter. I was using the supplied 6x30 finderscope that came with the mount.

(I think I may have answered my own question)

What about your polar alignment accuracy?

5 minutes ago, Maho said:

Because of the small garden with the high walls I was in, I couldn't see polaris. What I did was use a spirit level to balance and a compass to point the mount to north.