SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Binocular double image

Kdiveruk

Hello SGL I'm Kyle. This is my first post! 

Firstly I would like to say thank you for having me and secondly that I am a complete novice and I stumbled on this great site on my quest for knowledge to get me out there amongst the stars. 

I am working my way towards a scope but first I have borrowed some binoculars from work (ships binoculars). I am enjoying some dark skys in sweeden at the moment and trying to star hop and I have to say loving it! I have always star gazed but never tried to put it in order I have always just been in awe. 

But as the title states I am geting a double image when I look up. The binoculars don't have any focus on them I believe. Not that I can find anyway!  Is this the problem? I would really like to know what causes it. 

Thank you in advance as I know someone will know the answer as I have  been digging through the vast amount posts on here and there is a wealth of collective knowledge on SGL! 

Kyle Harper 

Southampton 

Uk

• Like 2

Is there a central focus wheel for the bins, or is each eyepiece adjustable for focus? Is there a model or make on them? And a number like 7x35 or 10x50?

If they are ships binoculars, they might be some non-adjustable focus type for easier use and they may have taken a knock during rough seas or handling which will put them out of 'collimation' and give double images.

Sounds like they've take a knock perhaps, but there is one more thing to try - that's flex the bins in and out on the central hinge so the eyepieces line up with your eyes perfectly (inter pupilary distance or IPD I believe). 

All else fails, tell the Captain any real ship would only use Fujinons and borrow those! But only when he's in a good mood 🤣

• Like 1

7 hours ago, Ships and Stars said: