Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Sky-Watcher Skyliner 200p advise on extras

Kon

Hi,

i am in the process of getting a Skywatcher Skyliner 200p Dobsonian telescope. I am a complete novice. What other extras do you think I might need when I start? What would be the top 3 items I should definitely purchase?

thanks for the suggestions.

Hi,

I think for me the top 3 would be:

- A Telrad or Rigel Quickfinder to sit alongside the optical finder

- A cheshire collimation eyepiece

- A good star atlas such as the Sky & Telescope Pocket Sky Atlas or for more help in finding things, the good old book "Turn Left at Orion"

Hope that helps :icon_biggrin:

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

16 minutes ago, John said:

Hi,

I think for me the top 3 would be:

- A Telrad or Rigel Quickfinder to sit alongside the optical finder

- A cheshire collimation eyepiece

- A good star atlas such as the Sky & Telescope Pocket Sky Atlas or for more help in finding things, the good old book "Turn Left at Orion"

Hope that helps :icon_biggrin:

Thank you. For the collimation would you use a laser one or without it? I have seen different opinions.

To extend from John, perhaps a Planisphere, a dim red led light and (free software planetarium) Stellarium onto your phone and PC. Maybe a stool or chair, a mat for the dob to rest on, a compact garden or camping table. As mentioned, Turn Left at Orion, is the number one guide to get you going.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

Agree with all the above, a red dot finder like a telrad or rigel is great to have, so much easier, faster and more intuitive to just 'point and shoot' than trying to use the finderscope. I have the Telrad which is great, but I would go with the Rigel in the future as the base is much smaller for my Sky watcher dobs.