Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

20x80 v's 25x100 Binoculars - Pros and Cons?

bond19

I have a set of 20x80 straight though binoculars (mounted) but my goal is to own a pair of 25x100. I'm fairly new to big binoculars but already love their ability to sweep the Milkyway. When comparing a 80mm frac v's a 100mm frac the larger glass obviously opens up more possibilities especially for higher powers.

Does anyone have experience with the two different sets. I realise bins are meant for low power, wide field views. So does lugging around a slightly bigger, heavier set of bins outweigh the extra 20mm gain in aperture?

Thanks everyone

I have both. The 80's are mounted on a parallelogram and the 100's are fork mounted. Both have provision for precise Alt/Az positioning which when used with a laptop makes finding objects easy. I would say that neither are usable without some kind of support.

The 100's that I have say that they can be used with standard 1.25" eyepieces but all the ones that I have will not achieve focus. There is not enough    " in" movement.

Mine came with x20 and x40 eyepieces. The x20's get used the most.

The 100's give brighter views but a smaller field of view

Edited by Tomatobro
more info

I love my 100 mm binocular (probably my most-used bit of astro kit) but, looking at your kit list, I wonder if a bog standard 25x100 is what you need. Your TV 102 + 41mm Panoptic  will give you far better wide-field views. Something like the Helios LQ-HR  might suit you (my review is here ), but the cheaper ones tend not to have anywhere near as sharp a field. The common 100mm binocular lenses tend to be around f/4, so aberrations tend to be quite pronounced.

In view of the duplication in aperture with your TV, have you considered something bigger? APM and Vixen both do bigger binos - but they are pricey, mind!