Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hugely expensive new 6" Meade ETX-LS

Just got The Sky at Night through the letterbox.

There's a 6" Meade in it, that you don't have to align - it does it for you - and it takes pics.

But it's £1299!

And it's a 6"!

I was having covetous thoughts, until I saw the price tag.

What's going on there?

Would you pay that for a 6"?

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I think its like all of these things - it a little like a multi function printer - you pay more you get something that does multiple things but nothing wonderfully well - if you buy the separate bits it will be better overall but would be more expensive than this package.

Equally, multi function devices tend to fail more

So I'm thinking, if I were new to astronomy and had shed loads of money I'd be tempted (and I am new to this) but if I had any experience I wouldnt be tempted.

For example, the specs of the built in camera are

"wide-angle color 640x480 CCD imager for taking your own astrophotographs"

I'm thinking thats maybe not a good spec but, as a newbie, I cant be sure. The other thing that would worry me is how good is the "hands free" alignment for the money being pad - especially when it comes to tracking and doing photography - if it aint aligned properly, it wont photograoh well - thats what I've picked up here very rapidly.

I guess its a lot like all the questions asked about scopes on here .... depends what you want to do and how you like to work / play and I think most people would prefer the freedom to buy tehir own solution.

Phil

Indeed Phil, it looks a bit 'gadgety' but then I'm sure when GOTO first arrived people said the same thing about that.... Personally, if I was interested in one, I'd wait until all the bugs have been ironed out because it's inevitable there's going to be a few at first with the amount of technology that's inside it.