Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Mars 10th Sep 2020 - Animation

AbsolutelyN

This is my first attempt at an animation of Mars. It was taken this morning between 00:12 and 1:55 UTC. It's a bit flickery, I think I need to move to Firecapture as that seems to have preset exposures per filter. 

Taken though a 250PDS (which needs better collimation) with a ZWO 1600MM Pro. 3x Barlow so 3600mm focal length. It was a lot easier to frame up with a larger sensor and then to reduce resolution on capture. 

You can see the light patch (dust storm or cloud?) visible last night move from centre of frame to left edge.  Mount Olympus is visible and looks to me to develop a shadow as it moved to the terminator. 

mars-animation-10-09-2020.gif

• Like 13

I'm really impressed with anims of the planets, that's very nice. I'm tempted to have a go with Mars entering a more civilised time. I'll have to check drive space, imagine these things produce huge files. Lots of small captures against long captures for the best individual frames? A topic worthy of debate for those who do this probably. 

Ed

• Thanks 1

11 minutes ago, skyhog said:

I'm really impressed with anims of the planets, that's very nice. I'm tempted to have a go with Mars entering a more civilised time. I'll have to check drive space, imagine these things produce huge files. Lots of small captures against long captures for the best individual frames? A topic worthy of debate for those who do this probably. 

Ed