Narrowband

Any good telescopes for planet photography, or should I just get a dob?

I'm new to astronomy and I don't really know what a good telescope would be, my max budget is 480€, does anyone know a good telescope that I could use to look at the planets, moon and take pictures with my phone? Or should I just get a dob? I really want to be able to take photographs but I'm unshure if I should just sacrifice it for a better visual experience.

And if so, is this a good option to get?

Actually - go with the dob.

For the time being, sacrifice photography for visual. Planetary photography is done in particular way with particular type of camera (planetary camera - often also used for guiding in long exposure photography - hence often advertised as guide camera as well) and results with phones or consumer cameras will be poor.

Taking planetary images actually involves taking a video rather than single still image. That video is then processed, best frames are selected and stacked (averaged) and some more processing is done (sharpening, color balance and such).

Dob is not well suited for this because it is not tacking - you need to push it, but there is a way to make dob track the sky - EQ platform that you can either purchase or build yourself (it is not overly complicated and blueprints can be found online). Using EQ platform will allow you to take above mentioned videos and do planetary imaging.

Detail on planets requires aperture so scope with large diameter has potential to resolve more details (but there are host of factors that determine if telescope will perform close to its theoretical capability).

8" F/6 is very good planetary performer, so for the visual - it will beat anything in that price range or even more expensive scopes of lesser aperture. You can think of planetary photography later on when you get the chance to learn more about it (watch some videos and read about planetary or "lucky" imaging approach).

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1