Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

New to astronomy

10-7

Hi all I am new to this hobby and know very little. I have a apertura 10" dob for a scope starting to learn the night sky. Haven't found any DSO yet but will keep trying. I live in mid Michigan in a class 5 bortle area. I am retired . Thanks in advance for any advice 

Ken0F7BCC58-388D-428C-B4F7-53334BE9C92E.thumb.jpeg.91f839b8b91d413d50a7e60884feb66e.jpeg

9E9668D8-8F0C-4251-8889-A3F71CB764E9.jpeg

149BD580-85E8-4B86-9BE4-0DE032896DEE.jpeg

• Like 4

My first visual DSO was Andromeda and its really easy to find!

Find Mirach(a redish star in the Andromeda/Pegasus constellation East/South East around midnight tonight) and go almost straight up from there. With a 25mm EP you'll see it real well!  Screenshot from stellarium of where you can find Mirach attached!

Clears skies! 

Edit: Oh and I completely forgot; Welcome to SGL! 😁

20200908_085703.jpg

Edited by Pryce
  • Thanks 1

Welcome aboard SGL and astronomy. Good to have you with us.

That's a nice sized Dob and with some practice and patience you'll be able to see a lot of the fine jewels that the universe has on offer.  Being undriven, you'll need to learn the art of star-hopping from one object to another, which is a fun skill on its own. That starts with getting a good book (or maybe an app) with the constellations on it and getting a feel for where the constellations are, how they move night to night, and where the bright starts are. That gives you a backdrop to to pin the locations of all the cool objects on.

Pryce has already given you a good one to go for, may I suggest M13 in Hercules is a good second one? That's a globular cluster (a ball of thousands of stars on the edge of our own galaxy) that looks like a snowball in smaller scopes, but will start to resolve into a beautiful collection of stars in your scope.