Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Newbie here – Meade ETX 90

I am excited to join this big star gazing community! I realize I am abusing of your kindness, so that you in advance for any help you can give.

I have an old telescope, what appears to be a Meade ETX 90 from the early 2000s. I cleaned it pretty well after many Youtube videos and online research. I found full blown spider webs and dead spiders!

I have encountered a few of issues as I'm putting it back together and I wonder if anyone might be able to help.

1. I took off the screws of the back of my OTA (I know I shouldn't have!) and now I'm not sure how to put them back on (see attachments). When I try it seems to push the primary mirror instead of fastening to anything. 

2. My secondary mirror flip is broken, the plastic piece part fell off. Is it possible to fix? The mirror itself is also very dirty (see attachments) and I don't think it can be cleaned further. Any tips on how to replace it and where to buy the parts? Or is it possible to not use the 90 eye piece viewport and instead use the front one so I don't need to fix the flip or the mirror?

4. My secondary baffle is sliding off. I've read that this is a problem w/older models. I tried pushing it to the right place and it requires some force, but after 1 minute it slides back to its original place. What should I do? Does this matter?

5. The plastic attachment to hold the smaller lens (finderscope?) wobbles no matter how tightly I screw it on. I don't know if it has anything to do with the front plastic part being a little broken.

Thank you for your help in advance, and I am still learning terminology so be easy on me ;)

IMG_7097 2.jpg

IMG_7113.jpg

IMG_7074.jpeg

IMG_7123.jpg

IMG_7122.jpg

IMG_7121.jpg

Edited by kaslonpro

Hi @kaslonpro and welcome to SGL. :hello2:

1. The screws that you are pointing at are one half of the collimation screws. The ones next to them are the other half.