SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Am I expecting too much from my DSLR

Stuf1978

I have been imaging with a Star Adventurer for the last 12-18 months and have just moved to a proper mount. Last night was the first time I've used it properly so decided to gather a bit of data on the Western Veil. My set up last night was as follows:

HEQ5 Pro

Evostar ED72 with OVL flattener

9x50 skywatcher guide scope with zwo asi 120mm mini

Canon 450D self modded fitted with a clip in Optolong L-eNhance.

I managed 48x300 second subs with darks, bias and flats. I'm in a bortle 8 zone and there was a 97% moon last night. I stacked in DSS and processed in photoshop.

I'm relatively happy with the final image with the exception of some horizontal banding that I've never really seen before. I did notice that that noise in my individual subs seemed to increase as the session went on so I'm assuming this is thermal noise? Baring in mind I only ever imaged up to 3 minute subs with the star adventurer so 5 minute subs are new to me. Am I expecting too much from this camera with regards to producing clean images at longer sub length? Or is my camera now my weakest link in my set up? I have a feeling it is but would like to get others opinions 😁

Thanks 

IMG_20200901_105005_347.jpg

• Like 4

Nice image of the Veil.

I had a go at the Western Veil too last night. Very similar set-up to you. Canon Rebel T4i modded. 48 lights of 210 second duration. Optilong dual band pass filter (Ha and OIII). Guided on HEQ5 Pro Mount using Evostar ED80 Refractor. Stacked in DSS. Processed in Photoshop CS2.

Not as much red in my image (but with a modded camera and filter I like to tune that channel down anyway as I sometimes feel it becomes too saturated). Hope you like too.

Gerr.

52AFA8D2-9BB5-41C2-8F9F-D37EF3368328.thumb.jpeg.a91b54f031a7a47ebca302fe6094d90a.jpeg

• Like 4