SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

No link to mount stand alone mode

Hi, I'm new to this forum, and I'm a beginner astronomer. After two months of fault free use, with a Skywatcher 16 inch  Netwtonion GOTO Dobson mount .(https://www.highpointscientific.com/sky-watcher-14-inch-goto-collapsible-dobsonian-s11830) that I bought used,  I went out early this morning to snap a few pictures of  Orion Nebula and Andromeda. I powered the scope up and I get the error message  " No link to mount stand alone mode" on the SynscanAZ handset .

I have checked and cleaned all the connections, especially the RJ45 cable that connects the motor control box on the side to the motor unit on the base.  The  scope is powered by a Baader power supply rated at 12.8 V I have tested this and it reads 13.2 Volts. The whole assembly has been working fine since June. 

For the past few week, I've been leaving this beast outside, covered it with a foil telescope cover when not in use. I'm just outside Valencia, Spain and temps have been between 32in the afternoon and 17 C at night, with the very very  occasional light shower. 

From reading around this site and other forums, my suspicion is that it is either the RJ45 cable or the Motor Controller (I hope not).  

So my questions are:

1) Am I missing something? Does anyone have an easy fix for this problem (please)

2)  Can I use a standard data cable with RJ45  to test the connection to the base motor  - instead of the RJ45 cable supplied (the color sequence in the RJ45 seems to be the same as a computer cable I have with RJ45s). Just cautious here. cos I've read that its easy to blow the MC!

3) Is it possible that the MC got fried in the sun -even if protected by the foil cover?