Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Slow motion declination issue on CG-3 equatorial mount

redbase

Hello Everyone,

I am a beginner, and have been reading a lot of articles and watching a lot of videos about different telescopes, mounts, etc.  A used Celestron Astromaster 130EQ telescope became available locally for a really good price, so I bought it.   It has a CG-3 equatorial mount.  When I brought it home I noticed I could not turn the slow motion declination knob.  The  DEC clutch knob located on the side of the mount is secure, so the slow motion should move.  When I looked at it closer, I think it might be bent somehow, preventing correct turning.  For better or worse, I removed the knob connected to the DEC adjustment and unscrewed it from the mount.  Attached are pictures.  Once I removed it, I could turn DEC spindle but noticed it was warped.  If I back it out all the way, I can no longer screw.  How much are we supposed to be able to turn the slow adjustment knob?  I've looked for articles, but could not really find anything about how exactly the DEC slow motion works.  For RA, I can clearly see a gear which turns.   I also noticed that the metal pointer is against the DEC clutch knob.  Could this also prevent it from turning correctly?  Thanks.

pic1.jpg

pic2.jpg

pic3.jpg

I don't know your specific mount but it seems similar to the skywatcher EQ2. That spindle being bent isn't going to help as the threads are probably going to bind as you wind it to/fro. On my EQ2 the DEC adjustment is limited and under the plate I can see a lever that moved to/fro driven by the SloMo spindle. It has a limit to travel by the housing that contains it (see pic)

image.png.c84937df057f622825ebae16ee3b7194.png

Not sure how easy it would be to straighten the spindle, you might get lucky or it may snap of course. Heating it may help prevent it snapping but add a challenge to handling unless you've a vice and blowtorch.