Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Clarify astroberry for me

Shimonu

So I'm just getting into AP and looking at what camera I should get. I'm considering whether I should go for a dedicated camera from the get-go and what that would mean. Astroberry seems interesting because I have several raspberry pi at home for other projects and I could pretty easily set one up with Astroberry. I still haven't quite understood how it's used once you're in the field though. If possible I'd like to avoid carrying a laptop with me as that's the point with something like this in my mind. But are you able to control it with your phone or is a tablet required? I've seen reviews of the ASIAir and it seems to have a pretty good mobile application interface but I haven't seen anything like this for Astroberry.

So I guess I'm asking how Astroberry is controlled and what is actually required besides the RPi? I won't have a backyard to image from so no home network connection.

Thanks!

You can use astronerry via a vnc app or web browser (astroberry shops with 'novnc' enabled by default I think. But the interface isn't optimised for phones so you're left trying g to use a standard linux desktop on a small screen touch device...you can do it  but I don't find it enjoyable....a tablet is much better in my view, but it's still harder work than  using a laptop....However, one of the key benefits of astroberry is that you can be almost fully automated, so you only need to connect to set your run off, so you may fi d it works OK

1 minute ago, catburglar said: