Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Sky-Watcher Star Adventurer - Tracking

Hello Everyone !

This is my first post here.

My Name is Patrick and Im and amateur astro photographer but I have over 20 years of experience in the field of photography.  Im fine with wide field astro imaging but I have some problems with a more narrow field of view, or rather with tracking.

I bought my Sky Adventurer few weeks ago and I was using it recently for M31 images.

I can pull out 4 + minutes with wide angle shots. With 600mm on the other hand 30 sek is max I can track without seeing trailing. Last night I was able to get 1m exposure without seeing any massive star trails but taking shots in intervals showed 2 from 8 images were tracked kinda fine, the rest of them shows like the tracker tried but gave up during the process. Thats 80% of bad frames. ( Images attached )

My setup: Sky-Watcher Star Adventurer.

Camera: Sony A7R III

Lens: 200-300G

Other Eq: Wireless trigger on top of camera body.

Overall weight: 2.9kg

I polar aligned it 3 times and balanced it as best I could so there was no pulling when the cluthc was disabled. ( No wind, tripod knocks or other factors )

Is there anything Im doing wrong ? I would like to know some opinion and guidance if possible as Im new to trackers etc.

Thank you so much in advanced

Cheers

Bad Track.jpg

Decent Track.jpg

Edited by BigPaddy

hi BigPaddy  

when balancing you need to have the weighted end heavier while travelling up, and and lighter when travelling down so as to get rid of any back lash hope this helps but to be honest with you 600mm fl is asking a lot for the S A well most mounts really unguided to shoot at that F L then you need a guide scope and guide camera.

• Like 1

Hi Patrick and welcome to SGL.

Being mass produced the SWSA can be very variable in performance, I can do about 90 sec's reliably using a 300mm f/4 lens with APSC sensor, widefield with 14mm is pretty much open ended, 15 minutes easily.