Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hi there,

I have a question regarding dew heaters and power.

I have this on a SW 150PDS:
https://www.astroshop.eu/heater-bands/omegon-heater-strap-secondary-mirror-heating-strip-small/p,56529

Specs:

Heating power 2,2
Amperage (A) 0,18
Power supply 12
Cable length (m) 2

I have this on an orion 50mm guidescope:
https://www.astroshop.eu/heater-bands/omegon-dew-heater-20cm-50mm-finderscope-/p,53511

Specs:

Heating power 4
Amperage (A) 0,3
Power supply 12
Cable length (m) 1

And i have this Dewheater controller:
https://www.astroshop.eu/controls/hitec-astro-4-channel-dew-controller/p,57478#tab_bar_0_select

Specs:
12v
2A per channel.

Truth is my thoughts have been on other equipment and AP setup since im still a newbie in AP, so I've only used the secondary-mirror heater a couple of sessions.
My question is since there is adjustable power on the controller- How much do i turn the switches? Will full power affect seeing for example because of heated air? Is half a turn enough? Some general info on this? 

Edited by masjstovel

The required settings for effective dew control will only come with experience and prevailing conditions. 4 watts on the guide scope will not affect its performance and 2.2 watts spread over the area of the 150PDS tube is unlikely to be noticed. Try them at full power at first and reduce the power if dewing is unlikely.

Low power settings will extend the battery discharge time if you are using a battery.