SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Getting familiar with the Stars

Hello there fellow astronomers! 

I've been using Stellarium (PC) and Sky Map (Android) for learning the Sky, but in few days I am going on a vacation where there is no electricity. So if no electricity how will I know where to look and at what the hell am I looking at? Forgot to mention that I am a complete amateur. 

So I've stumbled upon a really cool Star Atlas that is completely free to download and can be printed as you can see in pictures that is exactly what I did.

I am sure that many of you already have a lot of different software and your own resources where to download a Sky Map, but I really think this one is pretty easy to navigate with. 

Here is the link to Deep Sky Hunter Star Atlas Deep Sky Hunter Atlas (click)  Direct download link to PDF file:  Star Atlas PDF (click)

At the bottom of the page there is a link for Detailed list of most deep sky objects plotted in this atlas and Images of ~700 deep sky objects, including all indicated as "best DSO" in this atlas.

Hope that you will find this useful as same as I did!

Cheers and may the skies be clear!

20200813_164219.jpg

20200813_164233.jpg

20200813_164240.jpg

20200813_164323.jpg

• Like 3

Being honest I have never found the "Star Atlas" as shown in the second from last image useful. A page of small dots just never works with my mind.  I doubt there is an "easy" way other then to just get out side and work around teh sky and jsut see what you can make out.

Even knowing a fair number of stars and constellations I have to orientate myself first, then I have just a 50% chance whatever I want next. Some are related: Cassiopeia to say Perseus. However the only way I can find say Lyra is to find 3 bright stars and work out which is or should be Lyra. Hercules is worse for me, that one is a case of "That must be Hercules".