SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

What's needed next?

Hey, I am new to backyard astronomy/ stargazing. After doing some research, I bought an Orion XT10 Plus. I would like to view galaxies and nebulas, can I do so with this telescope and if so, what should I get next? What eyepieces or additional components would better aid me in doing so? 

Any suggestions are much appreciated! 

Edited by Stargazer Joe

A good guide to finding them would be a start. Such as "Turn Left at Orion" by Guy Consolmagno and Dan Davis. Your scope is perfect for deep sky objects.

As a newbie myself, I would suggest you just start with what you have before jumping into the never-ending abyss of upgrades and additions. Find out what works and what you have trouble with and then look to make things easier for yourself.

I  would imagine your initial purchases will be either eyepieces or improvements to your finder(s) - but until you have a shot, you won't know what your priorities are.

But just to get things started... what eyepieces do you have?

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

3 hours ago, Pixies said:

A good guide to finding them would be a start. Such as "Turn Left at Orion" by Guy Consolmagno and Dan Davis. Your scope is perfect for deep sky objects.

As a newbie myself, I would suggest you just start with what you have before jumping into the never-ending abyss of upgrades and additions. Find out what works and what you have trouble with and then look to make things easier for yourself.

I  would imagine your initial purchases will be either eyepieces or improvements to your finder(s) - but until you have a shot, you won't know what your priorities are.

But just to get things started... what eyepieces do you have?