SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Will 102mm MAK be good for me?

Hello everyone,
can somebody, who've had an experience with 102 MAKs help me, please? I'm just starting out:)

I live in a Bortle class 5-6 area of the city and I'm looking for a compact (so I can put it in a backpack or smth) scope for mostly planetary and bright DS observations.
I've read a lot about different scopes and thought that for the starters I should get  Levenhuk Skyline PLUS 105 MAK (https://www.levenhuk.com/catalogue/telescopes/levenhuk-skyline-plus-105-mak/#.XzMzYCgzZPY). 127mm MAK is out of my budget range and in the end I will have a lot of time to go for bigger aperture later. 

Will I be able to see, for example, bands in the atmosphere of Jupiter or Cassini division? Will such scope be useful for some DS observations (on rare occasions I can go to Bortle 4)?

Recently I've had a chance to see Saturn and Jupiter through Celestron PowerSeeker 80EQ and I really liked the way planets looked. And since then  I've been thinking of buying 105MAK... Since it has a bigger aperture than 80EQ, will the visible image be sharper/better? Will I be able to make out more details on the planets' discs? Can such scope even compete with Celestron 80EQ at all?

Maybe there are some alternatives to Levenhuk? Although I don't think Celestron C90 will do best for me.. Maybe some Sky-Watchers, but here in Ukraine there's not much choice among budget MCT:(

Thanks for taking your time to read that:))

Edited by nikkoppernigk

Hi and welcome to SGL.

I don't know much about Levenhuk scopes, so I can't say if that particular model will be good or not.