Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Complete Novice with no idea at all

Penwith24

Hi and hello everyone over the last few weeks I have spent a great deal of time searching  the internet in search of information with regards to trying to obtain a little knowledge on Astronomy, whilst also  deciding what I would like to achieve in a hopefully  new hobby ie just to observe our nearest planets, or take if further by accompanying my hobby of photograph so taking steps into astrophotogrphy, I am attempting to join a local astronomy club, I have mede inquires with some of my friends and one of them gave me the Stargazer lounger's Site to try and gain more information on the subject, at the moment I have not as yet taken the plunge as at the moment its all a little confusing and my knowledge is still limeted ie what sort of Telescope I need to do this and that but I have to admit I'm finding to hole process fascinating,  had the opportunity I of taking a look at this 10ins star finder Dobsonian I think an old model but as it was my first experience of looking at a telescope I was impressed  thank you for reading this cheers. 

Just made contact with my local Astronomy Club, its my first step.

Roger

IMG_2384.JPG

starfinder_reflecting_telescope.pdf

Edited by Penwith24
Astronomy Club
  • Like 5

Hi, i am also new to this and after weeks of researching different telescopes I finally took the plunge and bought an 8 inch skywatcher dobsonian. Since buying i have only observed the moon and jupiter but what a view i had of jupiter, crisp and clear and that was with the supplied eyepieces. I have now ordered some new eyepieces and a barlow lens. Happy viewing. 

• Like 4

Hi and welcome to the forum !

The Meade Starfinder is an old model and long out of production.

Take your time and ask lots of questions before coming to a decision on what to buy :icon_biggrin: