Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Best beginner dslr for astrophotography under £500?

Olli

Hi there

i am looking for a dslr and lens for under £500 I am a beginner and haven’t used a dslr before. I was wondering what the best choice is for daytime and astrophotography? I will be just using it on a star adventurer most likely taking widefield shots until I can save up for a small scope to mount on it. I have narrowed down to a couple of choices which are the 5600 , the 250d and the Sony a6000. I was wondering what other options would be the best? For daytime photography it won’t be anything special but want it to still take decent pictures. I’ve tried searching around but I’m still just as confused.  The only two main features that I need is a flip screen and Bluetooth/WiFi. 

i’m a bit stuck so would love to hear people’s opinions 

They're all the same it makes no difference which you pick. Any DSLR made in the last 15 years will give broadly comparable results for astrophotography.

The things that make a difference are things like Wifi and tilting screens which are very useful.

Canon has a wider range of lenses. Nikon generally have better features but are slightly more expensive. If you stick to those two main brands you will be safe as you will have connectivity to things like Backyard EOS and Canon Connect which are very useful.

I've got a 250d, its great, nice and compact and really intuitive to use. Its compact size and low weight is handy too and its a pleasure to use. But having said that, I upgraded from a 1300d which you can get used for about £175. In the daytime the 250d is much better, but at night (for astronomy) they are almost identical (250 is a bit more forgiving at high ISO).

It's the lenses and the time spent setting up and learning your system that make the biggest difference, not the camera.

The Canon EFS F1.8 50mm should be the first thing you buy!