Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

SW 130PDS Collimation advice

Hi all

Not wanting to hijack someone elses post regarding their collimation issues with their 200P, I have an issue with my telescope.

I'm a complete newbie and have only received my  first scope this week. When I put the laser collimator in, the red laser dot on the primary mirror is off by quite a bit from the middle circle. When I try to adjust the primary mirror with the knobs at the back of the scope, the red dot barely moves an inch, of at all. Does this mean I have issues with my secondary mirror? The spider is very stiff, and the screw in the middle wont budge at all, and I dont want to push too hard incase I damage it. I will be getting allen keys tomorrow if the issue is with my secondary.

I have attached pics for reference and the target on the collimator (which is blurry).

Any advice would be most helpful.

many thanks

Maho

20200731_233025.jpg

20200731_232955.jpg

I'm new to this myself with the same scope. Firstly I'd say, don't touch the secondary mirror unless you're absolutely sure you have to. I had no choice but to adjust mine and it was a nightmare as a newbie.

Is your laser collimated? Mine was off by a long way. Watch this.....

Others will be along with better advice soon.

@Jamgood beat me to it... I agree - it could likely be that the laser alignment itself is out.

I find basic collimation easier just using an alignment cap & the procedure given here:-

http://www.astro-baby.com/astrobaby/help/collimation-guide-newtonian-reflector/

That said, the three SW OTA's we've had from FLO didn't really need any adjustment for a long time after purchase...

Cheers
Ivor

• Like 1