Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What would be the next logical eyepiece to get?

Hi, newbie here.

I have an Orion Skyquest 8XT 1200mm on a basic Dobsonian mount with 10, 20 and 25mm 1.25" eye pieces. 

To get some additional magnification, would a barlow lens be the next purchase to make?  If so, what features should I look for?

What about size of the eye pieces/barlow? The focuser will take 1.25" or 2" pieces.

I'm generally looking at planets.

Edited by crazzy88ss

9 minutes ago, crazzy88ss said:

Hi, newbie here.

I have an Orion Skyquest 8XT 1200mm on a basic Dobsonian mount with 10, 20 and 25mm 1.25" eye pieces. 

To get some additional magnification, would a barlow lens be the next purchase to make?  If so, what features should I look for?

What about size of the eye pieces/barlow? The focuser will take 1.25" or 2" pieces.

I'm generally looking at planets.

How is your seeing ie steady skies?

If you are thinking of a 2x barlow, then I'm not sure it would be the best investment with the eye pieces you have.

The 20 mm and 25mm with a 2x barlow would be too close in magnification to the 10 mm without and the 10mm with a 2x barlow would be good only on the moon most of the time.

As Jetstream is hinting at, your next move depends on how steady your views are.

I have a 6mm and from semi-rural skies and when the conditions are good it gives splendid views of the planets at 200x.

However, I can't say I am able to use it every time and less so atm, with Jupiter and Saturn still being low in the sky.

An 8 mm or possibly a 7 mm might be a better place to start.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, crazzy88ss said:

Good point on a 2x barlow.

What exactly does "steady view" mean?  The scope itself is pretty solid on its mount.