Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Skywatcher 200p Eq5 advice needed!

Hello, 

I am pretty new to astronomy...

I have a skywatcher 200p on a eq5 mount and i am looking to upgrade the mount with the GoTo kit and a guide scope so i can do deep space astrophotography.

is this the right thing to do?

has anyone done this before?

any recommendations on the set up? ( what type of guide scope and guide camera and what type of software?) 

Apologies if this has been asked before.

Many Thanks

Jamie

Yes it has been asked before. Likely responses:

1> Go with it, but expect less than impressive results as the OTA is a bit of a challenge for an EQ5 - result could be disappointing images

2> Go for a lighter/ shorter FL scope with the EQ5 - makes imaging easier

3> Get a more substantial mount, e.g. EQ6, to go with the 200P - still not the easiest imaging with a scope of 1000mm FL, but the mount helps.

Personally I would go with a shorter focal length scope - makes life easier when starting out.

If your starting out then go for a scope of around 400mm focal length. As an example the last two clear nights I got nothing with me Esprit 100 and AZEQ6 as the seeing was so bad that it bloated my stars. In the UK that's a common occurrence. That's at 550mm focal length. Imagine the effect at 1000mm.

The standard 200P will not immediatly allow images, the mirror will have to be moved up the main OTA tube so that the prime image from the mirror can reach the camera sensor. So that would then mean a complete recolloimation of the scope.

Then you would need an extension tube to add to the focuser when you want to use an eyepiece.

The 200P is I expect at or even over the weight limit for an EQ5 and adding a guide camera and associated items would almost certainly be too much for obtaining a high percentage of good or usable images. You could find that 40% of the collected image are discarded by the stacking software.