SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Jupiter with a friend....

chiltonstar

Complete newbie here - saw Jupiter and its 5 moons last night for the first time and was rather pleased with myself.  Checking this morning, I discovered there should only be 4 !! So glad you posted the explanation - thanks !

• Like 2

Jupiter and it's moons (plus the odd background star) were a lovely arrangement last night. The Great Red Spot was right in the centre of the disk when I observed it as well.

Last night was a classic astronomy night - so many things to see, the hours just slipped by :smiley:

• Like 4

13 minutes ago, John said:

Jupiter and it's moons (plus the odd background star) were a lovely arrangement last night. The Great Red Spot was right in the centre of the disk when I observed it as well.

Last night was a classic astronomy night - so many things to see, the hours just slipped by :smiley:

I noticed that. I though I'd stumbled across 5 moons at first, or my C8 was badly out of collimation!  Seeing here was superb and whilst I don't normally do much visual I thoroughly enjoyed an hour or so with Jupiter, Saturn and a little sky hop.

• Like 1

Managed first light with my SW ED72 last night first clear night and same here great view yet could not make out GRS yet could manage the banding, and the moons  using a Vixen LV7mm  mind you a lot of air turbulence then got a good glimpse of Saturn as well

• Like 1

7 hours ago, John said:

John,

Took the dog out for her last outing and looked up and rushed home (sorry dog) gotta give the new scope a test drive albeit left it outside for half an hour for a quick glimpse before bedtime lets see if can duplicate tonight so far so good clear skies... no cloud cover here

Andy