SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Giving up....

I’m writing this half angry, half sad. Bought the eqh5 and a 130 pds to have fun with the son and since then it’s been all problems.

Goto never goes to the star I want. In put Polaris in the middle of a 24 mm zoom and tell to align to Vega. It goes more or less the direction, but never in the eyepiece. Never. If don’t go to Vega, how's  gonna find any other thing!!

so I saw the Stellarmate in internet to help to align. Bought raspberry, paid for the stellarmate and a 120 zwo. Since then, I’m a programmer not an astronomer. It’s an unfinished world full of problems. Full. Since you get the raspberry it’s one problem after other. Always in forums, asking to solve problems. If you have one hour of clear skies, you lose it rebooting the bloody machine. WiFi problems, drivers.....still hasn’t plate solved anything.....and I’m talking using the iPad.Kstars and Ekos in Mac....ja! I gave up long time ago. Just impossible to make it work without being Bill Gates.

im sad. I’ve spent 1500 pound in the system and I’ve only seen the sun and the moon. Not sure  if is this system or it’s me. 
due job/kids I can’t go to any meeting to see if any advanced mate would help me.

im angry this morning. I don’t know what to do. It’s not just one problem, there are so many.....

this is not astronomy, this is engineering....

any support like “come on mate, you’ll do it” much appreciated 

Pd: turned on mount now, and synscan only turning on when plugged to stellarmate....oh, come on, another problem more?

Sorry to hear about your problems . Not sure how you have been setting up your mount but in any case you should not use Polaris as a reference star. Because of the way  an eq mount works it cannot reliably point to the pole as the RA has a singularity at the pole I.e. it  is undefined.

Just like at the North pole all directions are South so which one is the one you want!

Regards Andrew 

Edited by andrew s