Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

I need help with buying a setup I'm a beginner

Hello to everyone reading this,

I am very new to photography and I could use some suggestions on buying a camera, a lens and anything else I need. I have never owned a camera but have used some over the past couple of years. My budget is around 300$ for everything. I really like taking landscape photos and would love to try astrophotography but currently can't until I buy a camera.

Thanks in advance.

Hello here, and welcome (I am a newcomer, too, as everyone else was in the past 🙂 )

All camera brands offer nice introductory cameras and lenses. It's a matter of personal preference, really.

Personally, as I was a film shooter decades ago, I settled on Canon SLRs and lenses (and I continue using my Canon lenses on my current Canon dSLRs).

The big two brands in dSLR today are Canon and Nikon. Both companies offer very good cameras and lenses (of course, you get what you pay for), and there's a large used gear market for both of them. If you prefer mirrorless cameras, note that they have usually smaller batteries than their dSLR counterparts, and that may be a problem if you are shooting long exposures all night. Also, it seems that some astronomic software like Backyard EOS doesn't support most of the mirrorless models.

Cheers,

N.F.

Astrophotography is about a lot more than buying a camera.  But some widefield stuff can be done with simple equipment.

The best camera for Astrophotography at this level is a modified DSLR and most people use Canon DSLRs because of software support.  Modified means removing of the IR lens in the camera as this blocks out some of the Hydrogen alpha wavelengths.  Using a modified camera during the day will need a change of settings or the photos will and end up pink (Custom white balance).