Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

laptop or net book for astro work?

has anyone got any experience [or knowledge] of using a net book, these smaller £200+ laptops that are becoming more popular. I am thinking of buying one for astro work but as I am a beginner to this stuff want to make sure it's powerfull enough.

Hello

I assume by 'astrowork' you mean imaging, image processing and general stuff like planetariums etc?

I have a fair bit of knowledge when it comes to computer specs, (don't wanna sound too big headed tho!) and would safely say that you would be better off with a laptop rather than a netbook.

Netbooks are exactly what they say on the tin; a user friendly, basic platform for running text based applications such as internet browsers and spreadsheet programs.

Going by the specifications for these devices;

Single processors <1Ghz, 1GB RAM, <60GB's Hard Disk and very basic graphics along with a small screen then they are not comparable with a laptop.

Take the laptop I am on now for example, the average price of a netbook is around £200/250 (some are cheaper but for a good model) for £100 more you could have a laptop such as mine which has;

dual core processor @ 2Ghz, 3Gb's Ram, 160GB's HDD, large screen, semi-dedicated graphics running DirectX10 (which are pretty good actually).......very useful for image processing and running planetarium software.

I would stick with a laptop!

There's some netbooks that have a bit more zip to them now. Not least the Acer Aspire A150. While it still won't bother a big laptop, it's specs maybe fine for field work, leaving the processing side of things to a more powerful desktop PC.

The Atom powered Netbooks have incredible battery life. Which is very appealing out in the field.

The A150 is available from Play.com for £199 and it's basic specs are:

Intel Atom 1.6ghz

512Mb ram expandable to 2Gb

120Gb HDD

3 x USB 2.0