Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First session tips!

I just received my first scope, a Heritage 130p and set him up immediatly. Can't wait till 3 more hours to do my first stagazing session 😁

Are there particular things I should look out for, since it's my first time doing this. And any tips & tricks are also welcome!

The moon can't currently be seen from my garden in this stage so I'll probably start with stars and some easy DSO's.

20200623_153333.jpg

• Like 1

The most important thing is to make sure that your finder scope is as accurately aligned with the view through the main scope as possible.

Don't assume it is out of the box !

• Like 2

Thanks! I've alligned it now but every time I watch through the eyepieces theres like a little grey blur blocking the left 25% of the view. But theres nothin on the piece or the mirror? What could this be ?

12 minutes ago, Pixies said:

Point the tube at a bright surface, take out the eyepiece and have a look down the focuser. Take a picture of what you can see, if you can.

Looks like it was the top of a fench blocking my view 😂 Luckily just that haha

• Haha 1

Update: Stargazed for 1.5h and it's obvious I need to a learn a lot. I can't wrap my brain around how this thing moves. Every time I want to move right and I look through the red dot I can simply turn right, but when I'm looking through an eyepiece it goes left ??? I'm so dumbfounded about this I just can't figure out how to simply move my view. This is the same with going up and down... I understand that if I go right it goes left or the other way. But when looking through a lense it does the opposite of doing the same thing but looking through the red-dot.