Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Lunt LS50THa B600PT

Freff

I  have been wanting to make a start in solar imaging for a while, and now have the opportunity to buy a new Lunt LS50THa B600PT .

What imagery and views can I expect from this scope, or will I need to spend £££s to get something other than a white disc. 

Any example images would be great. Many thanks.

Hello,

I'm a newbie to imaging (& processing), so with those caveats, here are some I've taken with a Lunt 50 B400.  (The white one is a deliberately maxed-out gain image).  These were all taken on an alt-az mount as far as I can remember - I think the data would have been better for processing on an EQ or solar-tracking mount (EDIT: the maxed out gain one was taken on an EQ).

If you haven't already bought it, you might want to check out what @Highburymarkis selling (a Lunt 60 for not much more than what the list price of a Lunt 50 B600 probably is) - I've noticed SGLers take a lot of amazing images  w a Lunt 60.

Cheers,

Vin

fullsizeoutput_1d6e.jpeg

Sun_200509_1340.jpg

fullsizeoutput_1d7a.jpeg

fullsizeoutput_1d78.jpeg

Edited by vineyard
  • Like 3

I can get images like this using a Coronado PST Tony so I'm sure you should be able to knock the spots of that quite easily. 🙂 What camera will you be using to capture?

101302410_SunHaFullDisc4-4-20.thumb.jpg.27f9d4f0f773e1e15733820e5505507f.jpg

395547407_Sun3xHa.jpg.7473cb1682931a4766af27426de17047.jpg

07A.thumb.jpeg.3871cc6ef342ba4ffa5353bddfab44e4.jpeg

589079836_StarStaX_1105-1149_darkenwaveletscolour.thumb.jpeg.979fcc1cffa690fb5e99a49b7bc76605.jpeg

• Like 2

37 minutes ago, vineyard said:

Hello,