SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Help Needed - AZ GTi payload question

dd999

Hi All,

I'm brand new on here but not a complete newb. I've owned various telescopes in the past but time for a bit of an upgrade.

I have a question about the payload of the AZ GTi WiFi mount. I already own a Skywatcher 130p (not the Heritage) which, looking online, seems to have an OTA weight of 4kg - which seems suitable for the AZ GTi mount, which carries up to a 5kg payload. I want to eventually add a dslr on to this, but am I really stretching the weight limit here?

I thought I could just buy the mount, and purchase a Manfrotto tripod elsewhere for more stability, but it doesn't seem to help with the maximum payload the AZ GTi can take (?)

The AZ GTi can be purchased as a package with the 130ps, which I understabnd may be a little lighter as it's built in a way that it can't be collamised for weight advantages, but this 'package' comes with DSLR fittings - so I wasn't sure if the 130ps is significantly lighter than the 130p to take the dslr with ease?

I'm going to be using the 130p in the interim, alongside a Skyhawk 114 or Star Travel 102 until I convince the missus that this isn't another of my five minute wonders, and then invest in an Evostar 72ed or 80ed for this mount.

I'm really keen on the mount due to the goto capabilities, and I need something REALLY portable, as frankly I'm lazy and less inclined if it's a beast, plus I want to take this overseas. So investing in to an EQ5 pro or HEQ5 pro just isn't an option.