Narrowband

First light with solar scope and first sun image!

simmo39

Hi all, this is my first post on the light side, As it was getting to hard to do DSO stuff this time of the year i forced myself to buy a Daystar solar scout to dip my toe into the solar water! Here is my first image, not great by the standards set on the site but im happy that i managed to get the scope to work for me. Any hints and tips would be welcome,

50004915966_0682612161_b.jpg

• Like 7

I’m new to this too! 
Great image! 
what camera did you use? 
also, a question about the scope.

I have a certain amount of image shift when rotating the helical focuser. How does your scope perform? 
cheers and thanks for sharing 

Bryan

Edited by assouptro

6 minutes ago, assouptro said:

I’m new to this too! 
Great image! 
what camera did you use? 
also, a question about the scope.

I have a certain amount of image shift when rotating the helical focuser. How does your scope perform? 
cheers and thanks for sharing 

Bryan

Hi Bryan, Thank you.  I used an ASI 120 mm Its normally my guide scope camera. I think the pixal size is a little large for my set up so will iget a ASI 178mm when I can scrape some spare cash together.  I have a little image shift but found it hard to get good focus with the helical focuser, im looking into getting it motor driven as I think that will help. The scope its self im impressed with although i need to sort out the mounting of the camera as i could only get focus with the tip of the nose piece just in the clamp. I think i need some more time learnig how to proccess solar images, Its a lot different to DSO stuff.

10 minutes ago, simmo39 said: