Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

PCB design

Fellside

Hi

Has anyone any experience of generating a PCB layout from a Schismatic drawing. I know there is software that can do it but I have no idea where to start. So if you have used anything first hand and could point me towards a free solution that would be great.

Board is relativly simple with a Arduino naro, couple of chips, plugs, connectors etc.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Graham

DesignSpark is a fairly common freebie

https://designspark.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/categories/201145765

Never used it myself so can't comment. 

As an electronic engineer myself I've never yet found a package I'm truly comfortable with. I've tried Pulsonix, Altium Pcad, Orcad, Easy-PC and several others. They are all a lot of work to learn there is generally a lot of setting up to do....how hard it can be depends on the quality of the parts libraries supplied. If you have only one simple design to make, have you considered giving it to  a design house to get prototypes made?

I use Morgatronics for the stuff I do professionally. :

http://www.morgatronic.co.uk/

It may seem expensive, that depends on how you value your own time. 

Alternatively, can you frame your design to use DIP chips and leaded parts that can be mounted on veroboard. This is hard nowadays because of the prevalence of surface mount parts, but sometimes it is still possible. 

RL

I use KiCAd to design PCB layouts. It's free and Open Source with loads of libraries for components to create schematics and layout the board. I print the layout using a laser printer and then develop and etch my own boards. As with all PCB design packages there is a fairly steep learning curve though there's plenty of on-line instructions and videos.

If you want to post your schematic or pm it to me, I can input it to KiCad do a quick layout for you to get you started, which you can then play around with. 🙂

Alan

• Like 1

RL