Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Help needed with reducer / flattener

Dam

Hi There Good People,

Hope everyone is well and safe. 

Not sure if this is correct place to post in since am newbie here and it is my first post so i hope it is ok.

I have a question or two that i need a help / advice with and i can't figure it out for the life of me which focal reducer/flattener will i need with my setup? I have recently bought Brassier AR152S/760 f/5 telescope with HEQ5Pro mount and few other accessories so i can do visual observing and at some point, do AP. However, was told that having a reducer/flattener in my optical train is a must have for AP and have since been browsing internet for more info on what is the correct focal reducer / flattener but i can't seem to figure out which one would work best with my refractor. I have Altair HyperCam 183c and some people suggested that i don’t need the flattener with my setup some people do and am confused now which one i would need lol. 

I hope that someone here can shed some help and advice and set things straight for me lol, i would appreciate that very much. 

Mnay thanks in advance and looking forward to repsonse. 

Best, 

Dam

Hi and welcome to SGL.

You should wait with field flattener / focal reducer for your scope until you start doing AP.

You might not need it at all. Scope that you have is actually 4 lens design and that means it could have flat field as is.

According to TS website - in fact, this is modified Petzval design and it has flat field:

image.png.1bc0bddd045865302b5579afff02a839.png

source: https://www.teleskop-express.de/shop/product_info.php/language/en/info/p7786_Bresser-4852760---152-mm-Refraktor--f-760-mm--OTA.html

Bigger problem will be chromatic aberration, but you won't know until you start imaging with said scope - again, here 4 lens design is meant to reduce chromatic aberration usually associated with refractors.

Hi Both,