SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

NAN gone wrong

10 lights at ISO400/120s, 5 darks @ the same. Stacked in DSS and PP in CC. Shot with Nikon D750 and a 200mm f4 Nikkor prime mounted on a GEM. I believe my skies are 6 on the Bortle scale but I also have a lot of bright LED lights in my area. A ton of stars showed up after stretching the data but barely any nebulosity. Is this a matter of Not using any filters or light pollution or a combination of both? Also I am a bit new to PS and all of the astronomy tools. I followed Trevor’s workflow from AB’s page (which btw created a whole new idea of what development workflow meant to me). I feel as if I pulled a lot more out of my data than any previous attempts on a target but perhaps I just didn’t have enough total exposure time. Being a member of S.A.S. I would normally go to our observatory but due to the pandemic it’s closed to the public as well as members. I also have 40 Lights taken at ISO1600/30s but I feel like that will yield the same results.

D1B33C1A-1074-4DCC-B180-E09BB0C8C4CF.jpeg

Really an unmodified DSLR will really struggle to pick up Hydrogen alpha (what is emitted by most nebula) as most cameras will have a filter within them that blocks this wavelength of light. This means that very little of the nebula light will actually reach your sensor. The relative short exposure and low ISO won't help either i'm afraid. This is quite a dim nebula as well which benefits from narrowband filters and a modified DSLR/ dedicated astronomy camera.

No harm in stacking your other data as well, but i'm not sure how much it will help :(

7 hours ago, CloudMagnet said: