Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

Morning! I've just taken delivery of a Sky-Watcher StarQuest 102 MC. It's all set up BUT apparently I need to polar align it to be able to see anything? Please don't eye-roll me but I'm a total beginner and my usual go-to for instructions is videos but there don't seem to be many on the StarQuest series. Do I have this right; the tripod needs to point north. Then put my latitude adjustment knob to my own latitude which is 51.

Should that be all I need to do?

Thank you so much in advance for any help or tips!

Hi, I'm new to this also. I recently got the Starquest 130p. Great scope also and I think the same eq2 mount. I found this article really helpful to get started.

https://www.skyatnightmagazine.com/advice/equatorial-mounts-an-astronomers-guide/

And this video

Once I read this and watched that,  the supplied user guide made a lot more sense.

Good luck!

Thank you so much - I'll give it a watch and a read and fingers crossed!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

• Similar Content

• By Leewfc
      Hi I'm hoping someone owns a scientific explorer 127 ED triplet scope. I purchased one over the summer to start astrophotography. I'm struggling to view anything with the scope. I've struggled to get anything in live view on my camera. And I'm also not getting anything through eyepieces when using them. I've tried using the 2 extension tube pieces but still no luck. I'm not sure if its something I'm doing or faulty scope. Any help much appreciated TiA
    • By BillKinn