SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Scope for SW star adventurer mount

Hello all! 

Complete beginner here :) 

Looking for any advice on a picking a scope for the SW Star adventurer mount? 

I'm hoping to get closer pictures of DSO, rather than wide field AP - so therefore thinking a scope + DSLR combination, rather than a lens (which are so expensive!) 

At what payload does the star adventurer still provide good accurate tracking?

is there a budget telescope available for this? (<£300)

would i be able to add a 76AZ scope (which i already have) onto this mount? 

thanks !

• Like 1

10 hours ago, Tomatobro said:

I am waiting for a dovetail saddle to be delivered and then will try my Skywatcher ED72 plus camera and see how it goes.

yeah the star adventurer mount + ED72 scope looks like a good shout. What is a DSLR option for this?

you just need the DSLR body right? 

you will need an adapter to screw on the focuser and adapt the camera body accordingly.  I will have a play with a Canon 40D. Until I try it I do not know if there will be enough back focus but perhaps someone who has tried this can confirm.

With my canon 200d connected direct to the focuser via an adapter the camera needs to be about 30mm further out with the focuser wound right in. So I do think you need some sort of extension tube between the focuser and camera to be able to achieve focus. This is where the field flattener comes into play obviously.

11 hours ago, Tomatobro said:

you will need an adapter to screw on the focuser and adapt the camera body accordingly.  I will have a play with a Canon 40D. Until I try it I do not know if there will be enough back focus but perhaps someone who has tried this can confirm.

Keep in mind that the Canon 40D is a big, heavy camera... Beter choice would be the 750D for example.

4 hours ago, Waldemar said:

Keep in mind that the Canon 40D is a big, heavy camera... Beter choice would be the 750D for example.