Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Help with Beginner Astrophotography Setup

Hi there,

I am relatively new to astronomy, as well as this forum so I'm sorry if anything seems obvious that I don't pick up on. However after using a very basic set up to capture some photos of the moon I wanted to invest in some astrophotography equipment.

Ideally I am looking to spend around £800 - £900, and I wanted some ideas on good mounts as well as scopes that can be used to take decent images of the moon along with other celestial bodies in the solar system. 

I have been looking at the Celestron Nexstar 6SE as well as the sky watcher explorer/evostar series attached to a EQ-5 Pro GOTO Mount but as I said I am relatively new to the hobby and have no idea what's good and what's bad. 

I would also prefer it if the mount is suitable for deep sky astrophotography along with planetary imaging as once I get the hang of planetary imaging I would like to take a stab at deep sky astrophotography.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Ryan

• Like 1

Nexstar is an Altaz mount and although fine for moon and planets will not really do the job for long exposure long duration deep space photography, the eq5 will achieve but ideally you want the HEQ5 as a minimum (I started with an eq5 goto mod)

• Like 3

1 hour ago, Astrosharkey said:

Nexstar is an Altaz mount and although fine for moon and planets will not really do the job for long exposure long duration deep space photography, the eq5 will achieve but ideally you want the HEQ5 as a minimum (I started with an eq5 goto mod)

What scopes would you recommend then with the HEQ5 mount? 

• Like 1

Ryan,

Around 2 1/2 years ago I was more of a newbie than you consider yourself at the moment. I had never owned a telescope at all but always had a real interest in Astronomy so heading towards retirement with some time to spare now I decided it was time to get one.