SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

I'm a newbie here...

Dannomiss

Hi all, I just joined this community today after a friend recommending it to me. I'm a complete newbie, but it has been a dream to own my own telescope since I was a child. Now I'm 37 and today I bought my first telescope - a skywalker heritage 130p. I read reviews on this forum and on first light optics and I just jumped in the deep end and bought it. 

I don't have a clue what I am doing so this is all new to me, but I look forward to learning more and seeing things I have never witnessed with my eyes 😊

Dan

Screenshot_20200530_133416_com.android.chrome.jpg

• Like 1

Hello and a warm welcome to the SGL. This scope comes highly recommended on this forum and I am sure you have made a good choice. Do not be afraid to ask for help when setting it up. That’s what we are all here for.

• Thanks 1

Hi Dan, welcome to SGL.

I think the first thing you need is a celestial guidebook such as turn-left-at-orion

This will show you the basics of using a telescope, has details of hundreds of objects to observe & shows you how to find them by "star-hopping" from naked-eye stars.

Clear skies.

• Thanks 1

Hi likewise a newbie with Heritage 130, had it about 5 weeks and have been very impressed. Read so much useful stuff from the knowledgeable people on here it’s been a great help. Learning your way round the sky is a must, great apps to help include SkyView and Stellarium plus one of the many good books.The heritage is quick and easy to set up and use, I read up on collimation,checked mine and found it was only slightly out, worth checking and I found it easy to do. Also I found a couple of wraps of plumbers ptfe tape on the threads of the focused improved it. Take time making sure your red dot finder is accurately aligned, it’s easy to do and worth doing well.