SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hello

KathGarvey

Hi Stargazers

I am a late starter to Astonomy at 58, I have always had an interest in the stars, but recently due to my granddaughter, my interest has grown to wanting my own scope.

At the moment we have the Skywatcher 130pm which belongs to my DGD, but I am thinking of getting myself either the

Celestron CPC 800 GPS (XLT) or the [/]Advanced Series C8-SGT (XLT).

I am a keen amatuer photographer when I can , my cameras being a Canon 40D plus a 30D. So am very keen to explore Astrophotography at some point in the future.

I would like to ask your opinion on whether you would go with the CPC 800 and buy the wedge for long exposure photography or go with the C8SGT with its EQ mount. The latter being more affordable.

Thank you for allowing me to join your group. I am sure i will learn so much from you all

Regards

Kath

[/]

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Kath, and welcome to SGL.

I had a look on the David hinds website, and could find the CPC800, but not a C8-SGT, so wasn't able to compare tthe two specs.

German EQ mount, or Fork Mount and wedge, is very much a matter of personal preference really. I've used both, but prefer the simplicity of the Fork Mount. With Celestron SCTs, crossing the merdian can be an issue when imaging, due to primary mirror 'flop', as unlike the Meade that I use, they don't have a primary mirror lock.

An 8" SCT is an excellent 'all rounder', but needs to be used with a Focal Reducer, for the wider field stuff.

At it's native f/10, this is an excellent starting point, for adding a Barlow or Power Mate, for planetary work.

The spec of the CPC800, is quite comprehensive, and is unlikely to dissappoint.

Dave

Thank you everyone for your welcome

Dave thank you for your advice, I had a look at the Mead you have but even the 8" that is a bit out of my pocket.