Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

New to SGL From Cannock staffs

ALZASCOPE

Hi guys my name is Alan i am very new to astronomy but always been interested in the sky at night

Im 63 years old i am a very very keen fish keeper which upto now as taken all my spare time and money. I have often come back from a dog walk at 11pm spent more time looking up at the sky rather than what my dog is doing and say to my wife i should get a telescope.

Anyway long and short of it I've bought a telescope ive hovered around your forum for a while getting hints and tips and purchased a sw 250p classic I live very close to Cannock chase forrest so light pollution is not too bad so purchased something i could just manage to manhandle myself.

We've not had good sky's yet but very impressed with what i have achieved at present.

I will asap upgrade the eye peices so will be seeking advice on those very shortly.

Anyway you seem a very nice knowledgeable bunch of people and hopefully we will talk soon

Thank you for reading this

Regards Alan

• Like 1

Hi Alan, like you also a newbie this week to SGL and also live in Cannock The only difference being I ain't bought no kit yet. I'm one of those getting led down different paths however I am now thinking something around either a Sky-Watcher Explorer 130ps AZ GTi or a Celestron Astro Fi 130mm. From what I can make out they both appear to be similar so any help from anyone would be helpful. Once I get round to understanding things plan is to add a CCD camera

• Thanks 1

8 hours ago, Trikeflyer said:

Welcome to the hobby Alan. Great scope you have. I live in Walsall Wood. 

Steve 

Hi Steve small world my friend i was born in Walsall wood many moons ago pardon the pun haha

8 hours ago, wookie1965 said:

Great scope choice, welcome to SGL. 

I keep tropical fish I suppose you are into koi carp.