Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Duplicating in the dark...

As I tried to get to sleep after an evening of high cloud and no astronomy, I began to wonder about various things.

One nagging question was why don't we take a handful of darks, maybe 5 or 6, and then just duplicate them to create a batch of however many you need, rather than spending maybe hours taking them outside when we could be gathering more lights?

And dreaming of lights...what would be wrong with picking out one or two outstanding shots as determined in SubFrameSelector in PI, for example, and then duplicating a few of these? Would these not add to the quality of the stack?

Having thought these thoughts, I finally fell asleep.

Duplicating exposures just doesn't work.

The noise picked up in darks is not consistent in each frame which is what you want to cancel out noise. 

With lights you will be doubling the signal but also doubling the noise.

I'm no expert but it's something along those lines.

• Thanks 1

7 hours ago, MarkAR said:

The noise picked up in darks is not consistent in each frame which is what you want to cancel out noise. 

I assumed the 'noise' in darks was pretty consistent between frames which is why it removes dust motes, etc.

7 hours ago, MarkAR said:

With lights you will be doubling the signal but also doubling the noise.

But isn't that the case with every extra light you add to an evening's stack? Choosing to duplicate one or two of your best lights that have captured excellent seeing, etc. must surely be a good thing? 🤔

Just wondering.

5 hours ago, Sterrenland said:

I assumed the 'noise' in darks was pretty consistent between frames which is why it removes dust motes, etc.

It's the flats that remove dust motes

5 hours ago, Sterrenland said:

But isn't that the case with every extra light you add to an evening's stack?