Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First scope what to buy?

Hello guys! I’m new to astrophotography and I was wondering what to buy as my first telescope.

I’d like to take photographs of planets mainly, and some DSo sometimes
i initially thought of the Celestron c5, as it has a great focal length and not so bad aperture which could allow me to observe and photograph quite a number of objects.
 But then I read some forums saying that the aperture is much more important, and as I’m not planning to buy a guider at the moment, it seems that it could be difficult to track objects with the c5 manually due to its focal length.

after a second thought, the William optics z61 came to my mind, it has great focal ratio and wide fov which might be easier to spot objects for newbie like me

however, I guess it’s not suitable for planetary photography? And how superior than c5 it is in terms of Dso photography ?

thanks a lot!

Photographing planets and DSO's involve very different capture techniques.  The best way to capture planets is with a long focal length telescope, such as the c5, with a camera that can take as many frames as possible per scond.  Then using software, you pick out the clearest frames to stack together to produce your image, hence having a high framerate camera being advatageous to get more clear images. 

Photographing DSO's is a lot different.  You need to track your target accurately with an equatorial mount, use a camera to take long exposure photographs (which damands accurate tracking or you will get star trails).  This is where a wide field, low focal length telescope such as the z61 would come in, which puts less demands on the tracking acurracy.  

I would suggest you think about which you want to focus on more and pursue that.  If you want to go down the DSO route, reading the book "Making Every Photon Count" before spending significant money is wise.

10 minutes ago, scitmon said: