SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

C70 Mini Mac

Hi, I’m new to SGL and pretty much a noob to Astronomy. 
I have C70 Mini Mac and I know this scope has its limitations for Astronomy, but I’m looking for suggestions how to maximise it’s potential.

If binoculars are a good place to start for Astronomy there must be some good use for the C70.

This my first post here and would appreciate any comments.

Thanks Niko...

• Like 1

I think one thing you could try is mounting it on a decent camera tripod if you have one (preferably one with a smooth tilt and pan head) and sitting comfortably with the tripod quite low (legs not fully extended) so you only need to lean in a bit to view without having to touch the scope, although holding onto the tripod should be fine (to brace yourself and also to keep the tripod from moving), it might be a bit more comfortable that sitting at a table with it on the tiny tripod.

As for what to look at, there are plenty of interesting things you can look at through a small telescope, I would steer away from DSO (deep sky objects) and concentrate on asterisms, large targets such as the Orion Nebula (you may need to wait until December for this now), the larger planets and the moon; you should be able to observe the moons around Jupiter and perhaps even see a couple of the cloud bands (Jupiter and Saturn will be small bright discs in the scope, but they should be fairly sharp).  Jupiter and Saturn will be evening objects from about July onwards.