Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Iris Nebula - Processing Help Please!

I've been having another crack at DSO imaging lately, and I've managed to produce this from 6 hours of integration: 

I'm quite pleased with it but I'm very new to image processing, so I'd be incredibly grateful if someone wouldn't mind having a go at processing my data!

Iris6.thumb.jpg.914b49e837fb96553a986ddb04c65713.jpg

Image Info:

• Lights: 46x4min + 66x3min 
  • Stacked with Dark, Flat and Bias frames
  • Stacked in DSS and processed in GIMP
  • Taken under Bortle 7/8 skies

Gear:

• SkyWatcher ED80
  • 0.85x Reducer
  • Astro-Modified EOS 600D
  • ZWO ASI 120MM Mini Guide Camera with 9x50 Finderscope
  • HEQ5 Pro Mount

There's some dust bunnies and other artefacts on the image that I know I could spend more time removing, however I'm wondering if I'm doing my data justice in processing!

Thanks, Tom

NGC7023 (2).TIF

Edited by trunting

23 minutes ago, trunting said:

I've been having another crack at DSO imaging lately, and I've managed to produce this from 6 hours of integration: 

I'm quite pleased with it but I'm very new to image processing, so I'd be incredibly grateful if someone wouldn't mind having a go at processing my data!

Iris6.thumb.jpg.914b49e837fb96553a986ddb04c65713.jpg

Image Info:

• Lights: 46x4min + 66x3min 
  • Stacked with Dark, Flat and Bias frames
  • Stacked in DSS and processed in GIMP
  • Taken under Bortle 7/8 skies

Gear:

• SkyWatcher ED80
  • 0.85x Reducer
  • Astro-Modified EOS 600D
  • ZWO ASI 120MM Mini Guide Camera with 9x50 Finderscope
  • HEQ5 Pro Mount

There's some dust bunnies and other artefacts on the image that I know I could spend more time removing, however I'm wondering if I'm doing my data justice in processing!

Thanks, Tom

NGC7023 (2).TIF 254.32 MB · 0 downloads

Hi Tom