Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

DSO and Messier list

Hello all, I am a total rookie to astronomy, only so far caught glimpse of the moon, venus and a couple of bright stars.

I am now modifying my scope to allow for better observation and collimating it to the best of my knowledge and skill.

I am eager to view the planets for starters (Saturn and Jupiter) and hoping to move on to some DSOs in the same session.

Could anybody point me in the right direction, I really want to create a list of Messiers objects and I want to start with the "easiest" and proceed down the list. I know that I might not be able to view the entire Messier catalog with my scope (check my signature). So I want to prepare a comprehensive list I can actually observe.

Thank you all for suggestions and clear skies.

• Like 1

Not sure what your light pollution levels are, but from a reasonably dark site you'll be able to detect most if not all Messier objects with your gear (remember that Charles Messier used a 100 mm scope with optics way inferior to what we use today).

I'd suggest to find a Messier list that includes surface brightness, because that value will give you a rough idea of the easy objects and the harder ones. Remember, it's a magnitude value, so smaller numbers are brighter objects.

Edit: here's one listing surface brightness (SBRT).

Edited by Waddensky
  • Like 2

49 minutes ago, Apprentice said:

Right forgot to mention that I live in a Bortle- Class 5 area. My observation will be done from a field but not too dark I guess.