Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Getting out and about in rural areas

Thinking about later in the year when we MIGHT be able to get out and about to dark skies. I'm in Edinburgh, so the lockdown is a little stricter, now; but when the nights are darker, in Autumn, hopefully we'll be able to travel for skywatching.

Anyway, I'm in a Bortle-6 area with some local light pollution. However, I can get to Bortle-3 in 40 minutes. I'ts the Lammermuir hills which I've become slightly more familiar with during the last few years with a cycle club. However, I've never driven out there overnight. I know what the Borders night skies can be like, regularly stopping when passing Kielder to have a look, but this was before I had a scope.

So, once things have returned to normality, I'd quite fancy heading over to the Lammermuirs in the car with the scope. However, I'm a complete noob and I'm wondering how this usually works for you when trying to observe in public areas? The roads I'm thinking of are very rural, with hardly any car parking and side roads lead mainly to farms. 

Is anyone familar with the area or somewhere similar? Is it do-oable with a biggish scope (8" dob) and what is your advice for public observing? Or should I be looking for a less-farming area with perhaps more suitable locations like nature reserve car-parks?

Cheers
Pix

Hi, I approach this region from the southern end, living in Newcastle Upon Tyne. I do not venture as far as the Lammermuir hills, remaining mostly in north Northumberland close to the border, I am also very attuned to Kielder and the skies here.